Start

Starting can be easy, but ending can be difficult.

Ending can be difficult for many reasons, but one of the reasons is being unable to keep up with everything that comes in between the beginning and the end: the middle. The middle can be full of chaos and confusion.

Starting this blog and labeling it The Journal was easy, but keeping up with it is difficult because of everything in between that hinders my mental capacity and sheer willingness to journal every day.

Writing a public journal is no easy task because I find myself constantly rewriting and editing to make sure that my records and thoughts are, if not true, at least valid.

But to every beginning there is an end, so I took the limited time I was given this winter break to end some things I started.

I finished reading Sula, Little Women, and I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.

My favorite characters in these novels are Sula, Jo, and Maya. They’re all curious, rebellious, strong, independent, conflicted, bold, and impactful.

As each novel progresses in plot, each of these characters become jaded by a nexus of societal problems, but their ends are nonetheless met with any less severity than the beginning of their existence.

Whether intentional or unintentional, their ends are impactful because they reveal a sympathetic truth of human condition—a truth that evokes an array of emotions and thoughts difficult to fathom if it hadn’t been for these renegades.

I started this journal because I wanted to record my daily happenings in accordance with my ideas and thoughts. Some of the entries may not reflect this intent, but they vaguely and often ambiguously capture daily experiences, and art, in any and multiple forms, becomes the vessel to these portrayals.

This journal is purely for my amusement and a method of record-keeping (a method to my madness) but like Sula, Jo, and Maya, I’m looking for some kind of impact from my personal human condition.